In a word: INCREDIBLE.

 We launched our service project, One Day Without Shoes, just one week ago.  Since then, not a single day has gone by that I haven't found myself reflecting on these students and their generosity with absolute awe, amazement, and gratitude. Your children have embraced this opportunity to help others with their whole hearts and I could not be more proud of them.  Check out some of their stories below!  


Picture
Karli and her family had planned a garage sale for Saturday morning; when she invited me on Friday, I wasn't exactly sure what her plan was.  When I got to Karli's house on Saturday morning, I was greeted by the scent of freshly baked cookies and the world's biggest hug from a very excited first grader! Karli was very energetic about her idea for serving others!

Karli baked cookies and muffins and sold them (along with coffee, lemonade, and handmade bracelets and rings!) at her garage sale.  She made sure to tell everyone who stopped by about her goal and where the money was going.  

Way to go, Karli!

Picture
Anna and her sister were busy on Sunday!  They baked four different types of cookies to sell and then set up a table in their driveway.  Anna created a fabulous poster letting all customers (and walkers, bikers, and drivers!) know exactly what she was up to.  

Mr. Nelson and I had a chance to stop by that evening and we were both very impressed with Anna's motivation, her sales pitch, AND her cookies!  

Thanks for your hard work this weekend, Anna!

We can also add countless stories of Frog Room kids volunteering to do extra chores, taking care of pets, babysitting younger brothers and sisters, collecting pop cans, etc. to Karli and Anna's stories.  There is not a single student in our class who has not jumped into this project with both feet and I am so honored to be teaching (and learning!) with them.  
Please continue sending your stories my way!

More updates to come soon!



Leave a Reply.